Depression


by Kim Brock

For now I’m facing a bit of depression.  I started out the new year with out a mate in my life because the person i was dealing with had serious self-esteem issues in addition to be addicted to drugs and alcohol.  I could not stay. I made a resolution and as  God was my witness to it i vowed to be alone for  the total 2010 year focusing on my relationship with Him, family, friends and so importantly, myself.

A couple of nights in a row I’ve been having nightmares where I was either hurt physically or emotionally in some way. I’m not sure what those dreams mean but I think they have something to do with the way I’ve been feeling these last 3-4 days emotionally.

Where’s God in all of this ? I know that God wants me to have joy in my heart and peace in my life.  When you are going through spiritual changes in your life you’ll go through a season(s) of depression. Most people are depressed because they are constantly looking toward themselves for the answers to questions they can’t answer.  This disappointment causes depression and can go very deep  if it’s not resolved.  God does want us to look at ourselves and realize that we don’t have all the answers and we can’t solve our own problems.  During our exploration of ourself and the disappointment of it, God wants us to understand that His Spirit lives inside us and will bring us out of or disappointing state to a state of  joy and peace knowing that He provides us with the stability we need to live a life free of self-disappointments.   By His strength and power in us we can be “more the conquerors in Christ”, and He will make us victorious.

Psalms 59:16-17 MKJV But I will sing of Your power; yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning; for You have been my strong tower and hiding-place in the day of my trouble.  (17)  To You, O my strength, I will sing; for God is my strong tower and the God of my mercy.

If you’re a believe in the words and work of Christ and you’re battling depression (inward anger) look to Him to be your  help and confidence.

1 John 5:14-15 MKJV And this is the confidence that we have toward Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.  (15)  And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of Him.

Let’s go to God in all faith and confidence in the midst of our depression and circumstances. Let us profess our confidence  in Him. He is faithful.

2 thoughts on “Depression

  1. I think you must have made the right decision. Your ex-partner has an illness and I hope he finds help through organisations such as AA or NA.

    There is no shame being with yourself. I think everyone at some time or another needs to do this – it is a growing process. Far better than being with just anyone.

    Your decision shows strength. I wish you good luck

    Like

Leave a Reply

