“Children of Men”, Anxiety, and Why Claims Must Be Supported


My film history teacher suggested that we watch films outside of class as a way to study the techniques of film, that way we can have something to discuss during class, creating student participation.  While searching for Tracking Shots I cam across an six-minute shot for the film Children of Men, starring Clive Owen. I personally think Children of Men is a wonderful film. I instantly fell in love with it when I saw it in theaters, while on a date.

Here is the scene I watched:

This is  a 6 minute tracking shot. There are no cuts in this scene (correct me if I’m wrong, I am just learning film termonology). What I love about this scene is that you feel as though you are directly apart of the tension Clive’s character is feeling.  Obviously, he’s deathly afraid, but  there is also  a sense of urgency since his main concern and focus is saving the girl and her baby.

Technically, the Director and DP (Director of Photography) did an excellent job of capturing the emotion of each scene. Unfortunately for me having not seen the movie in a very long time,  and watch all of the motions and movement caused me to feel motion sickness for a brief moment.  Then , and even worse, I began to feel as though I was going to have an anxiety attack. The experience was confusing and really didn’t make much sense, until I read a comment that read in this way : THE BIBLE SAID THE WORLD WILL BE LIKE THIS .  The comment was in all capital letters, obviously, to gain attention from the reader.

I am a Christian who reads the bible and has conversations with my Father. I believe that whenever someone addresses something from the Bible, there must be evidence to support  their claim.  The audience must have a reason to believe what you’re saying, or else it will fall on deaf ears. My fear came from over thinking the statement and focusing my attention of the fear that something like Children of Men will happen eventually.

Although I feel better now, I truly hope I don’t experience that again anytime soon (never is ideal.) But my physical illness aside, this scene is a classic tracking shot that film fans will appreciate for years to come.

 

 

Kimberly Brock

Leave a Reply

