Getting Defensive


Tonight I became defensive with a friend of mine because he question the in which I was telling a story, he got confused when I refered to my classmate using two terms: “older black guy” and “classmate” he read this and thought I was refering to two people. This isn’t the firstΒ  time he has gotten confused over a story I was telling or something I was explaining to him. It is frustrating because it is hard to determine how he wants me to articulate my words so that he will better understand me. My frustration over this led me to slight him to which I apologized. The interesting part is I do not have this issue with any of my other friends. I don’t know what to do to communicate better for his sake without him point out some error in my explanation, which frustrates me. I admittidely get defensive when I am misunderstood. He is a good friend, and I care for him quite a bit, but when this happens I feel as though I am doing something wrong.

Leave a Reply

