I wanted to talk he wanted to preach


I don’t know what just happened, but I think I just offended someone who’s been my friend for 10 years. I came to him wanting some advice about some problems that I am having with a family member and he started preaching to me (nooooo). Here’s the conversation:

Kimberly Andrea Brock [9:27pm]: do you have a few minutes to talk? there’s something that’s been bothering me for the last month or so.

O [9:28pm]: yes i can, im not at work now

Kimberly Andrea Brock [9:28pm]: Oh alright. well first of all how are you? How’s the foot?

9:29pm

O:

its good lol, im doing good just been experience God these last couple days

9:29pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

That’s cool.

ย My problem is that the last month or so the relationship that I have w/ my sister has been bothering me a lot.

ย She’s not really that nice to me anymore and she gets mad at me about stuff she didn’t really used to and it’s stressing me out some…

ย I’m not really sure what I’ve done, basically the same things that she gets mad at me about I don’t get mad at her about. I am picking up this really odd vibe, but I don’t know exactly what it is.

ย don’t*

9:31pm

O:

are u close to her?

9:31pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

Yeah. we’re twins so

9:32pm

O:

and u want to love her but its hard right??

9:32pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

No it’s not that, it just seems like she’s getting tired of me, or at least living with me or maybe who i chose to be friends with because she rarely likes any of my friends.

She isn’t nice to them either when she meets them most of the time, and they tell me they think that she doesn’t like anyone. It’s embarassing.

9:34pm

O

is she a christian?

9:35pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

She beliefs in God but doesn’t really go to church.

but I am not sure what difference that would make if things were fine before.

I know that financially living here together I have struggled a lot, but now it seems like since I am doing some what better the responsiblities are falling more on me

9:37pm

O:

she could be getting attacked by spirits, lies from the enemy, and just making her heart bitter

9:37pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

like I told her when the internet bill was due like 3 times. I even wrote it on our callendar on the fridge. I told her that it was due and she started yelling about how I never tell her when it’s due. I told her I let her know about it more than once and the price. I told her that I had even wrote it down on the calendar.

9:38pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

I don’t know …maybe. It’s just jacked up. This girl who we know.. I should say woman because she’s older than us lied on my that I said something about a friend of ours, something I never did say.

My sister said “That sounds like something you would say” I replied “That sounds like something *anybody* would say” The girl told krystal I told her a friend of ours was weird. I never said anything of the sort.

I couldn’t really believe my ears.

9:41pm

O:

i really encourage you to pray about this, and pray for your sister

9:41pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

yeah I suppose I will…

I can’t really do anything but that, it’s up to the person to change…

I’d really prefer to move and have my own place at some point. We are almost 30 still lving together…it’s time.

living*

9:42pm

O:

and pray that God will give u strength to forgive her, even if she is wrong 100 percent of the time and your right

sometime its not even worth arguing over certain situations, it goes no where

9:43pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

I don’t try to argue. I don’t usually say anything, but I’m just caught off guard by it.

9:44pm

O:

yeah, i know its hard with family

when u forgive her, u wont be as stressed, God is in control, he will help you through this mess,

9:46pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

If I had an understanding of where all this was coming from I could approach it right.

I don’t have any unforgivness toward her but it just hurts the way she acts towards me sometimes.

I feel like I’m intruding or I annoy her or something

It’s hard to describe.

9:47pm

O:

you might not ever know, that something you have to surrender to God at this time, the” WHY”

u might find out later

9:47pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

Like what would you think if you had a brother or sister who wasn’t nice to you friends or they said things that weren’t nice about you to you…

Yeah. If I never find out then so be it. I would like to know so there could be a resolve anyway, but if not then it won’t be.

9:49pm

O

that happen alot in church

9:50pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

that’s the last place it should happen.

9:50pm

O

gossip , slander

we are all human, and we all make mistakes

9:50pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

the church is supposed to be safe…

9:51pm

O

God loves me and im a sinner too, im just as bad as them, but God gives me the strength to forgive them

9:51pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

yeah..

9:51pm

O

and it talks about that same situation in the book of corintian

9:51pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

yeah.

9:52pm

O

at the end of 2nd cornitians, Paul talks about

how he comes to love the church, but not everyone will accept him, he will love without anyone caring about him back , rejecting him

but it by the grace of God that helps him love

9:55pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

yeah

9:57pm

O

the devil comes to steal kill and destroy are families our churches, but we have one who has conquered it all and set us free.

we can have that peace when we are walking the storm

through*

when we are weak , He is strong in us

and he gets us through

9:59pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

I really just wanted to chat. It wasn’t really necessary for me for you to minister to me…

I know that comes off as kinda weird but that’s kinda how I feel right now.

10:01pm

O

i minister to everyone, thats what God has called me to do. i think God needs to be in every part of our lives.

10:02pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

I understand.

10:04pm

O

hes a big part of my life and my relationship is deep with him because of the mercy, he has shown me

10:05pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

Okay, I understand.

10:06pm

O

i tried to live my life on my own decisions, actions, before being a christian and being a christian . and it lead me away from him

10:07pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

I get what you’re saying, but I’m not trying to make you or tell you to live your life your own way by my request. that didn’t really have anything to do with it really.

I just wanted to chat because this situation is really bothering me.

10:08pm

O

ok well Godbless you, i hope things work out for you and your sister, for the best. i will be praying for you guys.

10:09pm

Kimberly Andrea Brock

thank you good night.

As you can see [depending upon if you even took the time to read that], that conversation turned bad very quickly. I realize that I offended my friend and what I told him was really hard to say, but I could not shake the feeling that I was feeling while he was preaching to me (I just want a friend). I suppose for them to tell me that God has called him to minister and he ministers to everyone means what it means, or it could mean “you aren’t going to persuade me to speak my own words. I rely on God”. Anyway, I’ve been so swept up by so many falsities within the church that now I don’t see the church as immediately trust worth (having been almost swept up by a cult, twice I think there’s validity). It’s hard for me to explain to my christian friends how I feel, but the more I educate myself on the words and ways of writers the least I feel connected with Christianity. I have no hatred (hopefully) in my heart for what anyone chooses to believe, but I just see the pride and judgmental nature of Christianity over and over again and it’s turned me off. I still pray to God and believe that he made all things, but Christianity …no. Not anymore :-(. When I come to a friend for advice I am not looking for a sermon and a pastor, I am looking for a friend, someone who will offer me some practical advice on how to deal with the situation. Preaching will arise my emotions but actions will solve the problem and besides sometimes I just want to be heard, and whenever I don’t feel I am being heard I don’t see the point in continuing on to ask for help. I hope that my friend is not angry with me, but if I am not honest then what else can I be??

Thank you for reading this

Kim (kimberly.brock85@yahoo.com)

Leave a Reply

