Going to Burning Man-My First Burn


About 3 weeks ago, I was notified by the Burning Man Committee (??) that I was awarded a low-income ticket to Burning Man. A ticket will be waiting for me to pick up at will call on the day the event begins. For anyone who’s never heard of Burning Man or has heard of it but never been, there isn’t much info I can give you because it’s hard to explain. And I’ve had people explain it to me multiple times with their input being, “It’s hard to explain”. I am very excited that I am going to be preparing for the trip and event for the next 3 1/2 months. I will admit that I am very nervous about going. First of all, I don’t have a way to get there just yet. I have a good feeling that things will work out, but I haven’t purchased my main essentials yet because I am so afraid things won’t work out and I’ll end up having to stay home while everyone is out enjoying their fun, fun, fun, in the desert lands of Black Rock City. Another daunting thought is that the environment is quite different than what I’ve always been used to living here in Los Angeles, no phone reception, self-reliance, and living amongst 50 or so thousand people from all over the world is going to be very interesting yet also it will be a bit intimidating because this is will be my first Burning Man experience. I have met a few Burners and they’ve all seemed like some nice people. I am looking forward to connecting and just letting loose a bit and enjoying my time there. For those of you who’ve gone, what was your first experience at Burning Man ( I have yet to hear of anyone having a bad experience there), and what would be your advice to Newbies?

4 thoughts on “Going to Burning Man-My First Burn

  1. MY QUESTION IS WHY WOULD ANY CHRISTIAN/FOLLOWER OF CHRIST WANT TO GO TO BURNING MAN – IT IS PROBABLY ONE OF THE MOST DEMONIC PAGAN GATHERINGS EACH YEAR OTHER THAN THAT OF WITCHES & WARLOCKS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

