I think Earth is a Special Place in our Galaxy, Universe


Currently, I’ve taken up an introduction to Astronomy course at my community college. It’s a very difficult class with lots of information into the inner-workings of our Universe. What’s fascinating is that all of what goes on in this Universe appears in alignment to what *should* happen in this Universe. There appears to be an order is what I’m conveying. The earth, in the Astronomy text book, is called an “ordinary rock” and the Sun is called “an average star”. I understand the humility factor in those two labels. But we have just enough in our atmosphere and on our planet to harbor life, and not only plain ol’ life, but INTELLIGENT  life. That, to me alludes to something special.

Another thought that has come to me is the fact that we are so engulfed in our personal drama and daily stresses (however minute), we’ve forgotten we are very small specks in a vast array of heavenly bodies. There are some things in our lives that are truthfully not worth the stress.

Compacted with so much information, Astronomy is a fascinating science. It’s also the oldest science around. I really hope to learn more as I go. On a side note, I’ve been thinking about minoring, or double-majoring in some science along with my English studies, but I am not sure if I have the brains or time to step into that realm. I have been considering it for the last year and a half.

Leave a Reply

