My Thoughts on Michael Brown, and Furgeson, MO


There’s a lot of difficulty in writing about something from an out-side-looking-in perspective. Not as a person of color, but as a human being. I believe that what happened to Michael Brown was really sad and unfortunate. I believe that he was murdered. Possibly, he was viewed as a trouble maker and a stereotype that the world needed to be rid of, but essentially, he was someone’s son, cousin, nephew, friend, and the list goes on. Society struggles to grieve for people who they don’t see as being human, and these are the same “non-human” beings that are produced by the same society that essentially rejects them for not fitting the mold of what is perceived as American. I did not know Michael Brown, and neither did I know his father and mother. All that I know is that they have to bury their son, and as a larger issue in society we’ve put the young man’s character, and personal life on trial to decide if he actually deserved/caused his own death. What type of people are we to say to the parents of a dead teenager “He wasn’t as sweet and innocent as you say.” How do we sleep at night knowing we are the catalysts of constant perpetuation of young people (black, white, brown, etc) as criminals and nuisances in society? Why do we treat these kids this way? It’s wrong to criminalize them. Okay, maybe he stole something out of a store. Petty theft, or does that mean he should have been gunned down because he is a *problem*? Let’s stop these ill treatment and perception of each other based on our skin color. Blacks need to stop looking at whites as inferior and non-human entities, and Whites need to stop doing the same. I say this generally speaking because for anyone who is reading this that has even spoken the the words of “[Insert Race] is not human/an animal/leach of society,” whatever it is that you’ve chosen to say, you are apart of the problem, and you need to education yourself on the specifics of DNA or something because besides the respective color of our skin, we are not different.

 

On another note, I feel some what hypocritical. I see all of the hysteria over Michael Brown. I vividly recall my anger over Trayvon Martin, yet when I go to the neighborhood I grew up in to visit my grandma, and I see my race (Black) hanging out at the bus stops, or in front of the liquor stores, doing absolutely nothing, or some of the young guys, or even older men walking around with their pants sagging. I get frustrated at the lack of initiative, and not every person except for me who is black is living with out a sense of purpose and urgency, but as much as we (black people) are put under a microscope for ever thing we do in this society, we must take the initiative to do better, and not for the approval of those around us, but for ourselves as individuals and contributors of American society. The issues that are surrounding people of color in this nation are not exclusive to the color that is being inhibited. We are all Americans! The issues are American issues! Let’s formulate some type of dialogue that creates understanding of one another, and let’s lose some of that anger towards who has it worse or who is most inferior. I hope our dialogue begins to change!

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Michael Brown, and Furgeson, MO

  1. This is a very good posting. I don’t pretend to or suppose that I have any solutions either. I can point fingers at several problems just like anyone else could, but I’m sure there would be several fingers pointing back.
    Back in the 1960’s, as Martin Luther King Jr. protested and shared his cause with America, he did it with grace and dignity that could be admired. There were also several other men (and women) that marched with him that had that same grace, but many of them today, seam to have gone backwards in their cause.
    Today’s society is more anxious than it was back when I was a child. Patience has worn thin. We don’t want to wait until tomorrow, we want it today. Because of this, we have become angry and say that we are caught up in the moment. We want to be individuals, but yet we become the same with a mob mentality.
    You say that we are all the same. I take it that you mean that we were all created in God’s image, meaning that we all have emotions, can think, reason, and communicate. I agree with you on these points, but we are actually all different. The difference is how and where we were raised.
    The more anxious and impatient society gets, and the more crowded our cities and minds become, the worse we all will turn out to be. The more people there are, the less opportunities we have.
    We have become the Haves and the Have nots. The Have nots want what the Haves have and the Haves want more.

    Like

    1. When I say that we are all the same, I say that to mean that we are all of the human race. There is not one person or group of people who are an inferior race of human beings. society has taught us that, but it isn’t true. I think that you’re right when you say that this generation is far less patient, but I that patience is a practice in character, it takes time to develop. Everything is instantaneous these days, so maybe people don’t have a sense of what it means to patiently wait for things, it’s essentially being lost.

      Like

Leave a Reply

